Mason Law Library Study Aids
Need Library Assistance?
Law Librarians are here to help!
Email Us:
Call Us:
- Circulation: (202) 274-7310
- Reference: (202) 274-6280
Meet Us:
For more information, please visit our Staff Directory.
Civil Procedure Study Aids
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
This page lists curated study aids to support students studying civil procedure. Students may click the '
' information icon located at the end of an item's title for a more detailed description of the item's contents.
Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure by
This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of civil procedure. It covers general considerations, litigating step-by-step, authority to adjudicate, complex litigation, governing law, and former adjudication. It allows students to understand how their course materials fit together, doing so by conveying a conception of civil procedure-the relationships among the ideas and the law that constitute the subject. This book is carefully designed and written as a study aid in preparing for classes and as a review aid in studying for examinations, containing all the many special features that characterize the highly successful Black Letter Series of books, such as a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887864938Publication Date: 2024-01-29
Gilbert Law Summaries on Civil Procedure by
The topics discussed in this law-school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens) and subject-matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal-question jurisdiction, removal and supplemental jurisdiction). The Summary provides an accessible explanation of the Erie doctrine and federal common law. It introduces contemporary doctrine on pleadings (including counterclaims, crossclaims, amendments and supplemental pleadings) and joinder of parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery. There is a full chapter addressing summary judgment. Another chapter covers pretrial conferences, settlement-promotion devices, and the increasingly important topic of arbitration. The trial chapter covers the right to jury trial, trial motions, jury instruction and arguments, and post-verdict motions. There are also chapters on appeals and preclusion (both claim and issue preclusion). The Summary begins with an extensive Capsule Summary of all the topics covered, and also includes Review Questions keyed to the outline's coverage, and sample essay questions and answers. Throughout the outline, there are also Exam Tips and charts to summarize and explain the material.Annual update memos will be added on this page when available.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781636595993Publication Date: 2022-07-14
Emanuel Law Outlines for Civil Procedure by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam:
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781454899280Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Civil Procedure Cold Call Companion by
The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared?
BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are:
Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life;
A written case brief;
Advice for prepping for class discussion;
Contextual materials to offer additional color and background;
Test Yourself questions; and
Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.
Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 08-05-2024
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Law (Keyed to Dressler and Garvey, 9th) by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler and Garvey's casebook on Criminal Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685614782Publication Date: 2022
A Short and Happy Guide to Civil Procedure by
Of the first-year subjects, Civil Procedure is the most foreign to students' experience. This book unlocks Civil Procedure by explaining doctrine and rules and placing them in context - explaining the role of each and how each doctrine relates to the others. It includes a chapter on how law school differs from college and what that means for class- and exam-preparation. It provides concrete analytical frameworks for resolving exam questions. And throughout, scores of examples allow you to apply the law to fact patterns.
ISBN: 9781685611873Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell by
Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685610142Publication Date: 2022-08-08
Understanding Civil Procedure, Seventh Edition by
This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down.
The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further. Finally, they also treat thoroughly the most recent developments in personal jurisdiction and electronic discovery, among the most dynamic topics in modern procedure.
The resulting treatise will be useful to law students as a supplement to their civil procedure coursework, and to practitioners as a quick reference and refresher to procedural issues that arise in litigation.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781531025748Publication Date: 04-12-2024
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure by
With this ninth edition of Civil Procedure: Examples & Explanations, Joseph Glannon’s uniquely entertaining style teaches and engages students in all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course.
Accessible introductions and explanations combine with a proven pedagogy in the popular Examples & Explanations format that is effective for learning and applying the fundamental concepts and rules covered in the Civil Procedure course.
New to the Ninth Edition:
A chapter that covers the full range of proper bases for personal jurisdiction
The new chapter includes discussion and examples applying the new approach to specific in personal jurisdiction recognized by the Supreme Court in Ford Motor Company v. Montana Eight Judicial District Court, decided in 2021
Updated case references
Updated citations
Incorporation of new rule changes
Professors and students will benefit from:
Glannon’s excellent reputation as best-selling author of his Civil Procedure E&E, his Torts E&E, and the first book in The Glannon Guide Series, The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure
Covers all aspects of first-year Civil Procedure course including difficult areas of res judicata, collateral estoppel, and personal and subject matter jurisdiction
Examples progress gradually from simple to challenging to build students' confidence
Numerous visual aids, including diagrams, charts, and documents
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543839340Publication Date: 9th ed.
Civil Procedure by
Gain insight into the laws governing all of the major steps in the civil litigation process, starting with jurisdiction, venue, and ascertaining the governing law, and moving through pleading, joinder, discovery, pretrial management and adjudication, trials, appeals, and the effect and enforcement of judgments. Class actions and other forms of complex, multiparty litigation, as well as Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), are also covered. This text addresses the major themes underlying the various rules and procedures, and it has continuing utility as a desk book in legal practice and as an entrée into deeper research.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781647082697Publication Date: 2021-08-26
Inside Civil Procedure by
Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why, like a great teacher, helps law students understand civil procedure clearly and deeply. Procedural rules and doctrines that at first seem incomprehensible finally make sense when students understand what the rules are trying to do, how they are used in practice, and how they fit into the bigger picture. Unlike oversimplified outlines or lengthy treatises, it actually teaches with clear explanations and features designed to help students master the material. By the end of each chapter, students will have a clear understanding of not only how the rules and doctrines work, but also how the pieces of the puzzle fit together. Overviews set up each topic FAQs give straight answers to questions and clear up common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars offer insights, study tips, and practice pointers. Step-by-step analyses demonstrate how to apply the material. Chapter summaries provide quick review guides. Connections helps students fit the material with other topics in civil procedure.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781454897606Publication Date: 2017-12-12
The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions.
Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application.
The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here’s why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom:
It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work.
Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543839289Publication Date: 2023-07-12
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure by
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure is a supplementary text for use primarily by first-year civil procedure students to obtain a clear understanding of the subject. The book is divided into easy-to-find subject areas so students can pinpoint the questions where they need more review. For students seeking a comprehensive review of civil procedure, the book also includes a sample exam covering a wide array of civil procedure subjects. This edition of the book builds on the foundation established in the first four editions, by revising and updating the topics covered to include new developments in the law. It also includes coverage of all the civil procedure subject areas covered on the Multistate Bar Examination. Finally, the questions have been updated to use more inclusive language.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781531023744Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Mastering Multiple Choice for Federal Civil Procedure MBE Bar Prep and 1L Exam Prep by
New book purchase includes complimentary digital access to the eBook.Need a little practice with multiple choice questions in federal civil procedure? Your solution has arrived.You MUST buy this book if:A. You are studying for your Bar Exam's MBE multiple choice test, and are more than just a little freaked out by how broadly Civil Procedure can be tested;B. You are in law school, enrolled in a Civil Procedure course, and you are exasperated trying to master the countless nuances of Civil Procedure;C. You want a resource that helps coach you in improving multiple choice exam performance, with strategies, realistic questions, answers, and detailed explanations;D. All of the above.This fourth edition (expanded with new questions, new answers, and new explanations) encompasses material reflecting all Civil Procedure Rule amendments through December 2021, along with applicable new case law through February 2022. This multiple choice practice book is designed for: (a) bar exam takers, who are preparing to take the MBE multiple choice bar exam, and (b) 1L law students, who are preparing to take their course examinations. This practice book offers practical, easy-to-follow advice on multiple choice exam-taking strategies, clear suggestions on effective multiple choice practicing techniques, and a robust set of Civil Procedure multiple choice practice questions with answers and explanations (designed to simulate MBE-style questions). Tables help users decode the tested-topic for each practice question.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781636593364Publication Date: 2022-04-25
Emanuel CrunchTime for Civil Procedure by
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781454899310Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Aspen Aloud: Civil Procedure by
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9798889067481Publication Date: 2023
Office Hours on Civil Procedure by
Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Sum and Substance Audio on Civil Procedure by
Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio Set on Civil Procedure, 8th presents the essentials of civil procedure in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Includes quick reference indexing, allowing you to quickly locate all topics in the recording, and informed exam tips to help maximize your performance. Sections discuss: clusters of procedure, citizenship, traditional basis of jurisdiction, constitutional principles, illustrative application, federal court jurisdiction, service of process, venue principles, pleading, sanctions, joinder, counterclaims, class actions, discovery, summary judgment, trial, jury trial, posttrial motions, new trial motions, motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, collateral estoppel, and appeals.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 09-06-2016
A full list of all CALI lessons covering Civil Procedure is available in the Civil Procedure Index. Some of the popular topics are linked below. For access to CALI, stop by the Law Library Reference Desk during business hours.