Mason Law Library Study Aids
Need Library Assistance?
Law Librarians are here to help!
Email Us:
Call Us:
- Circulation: (202) 274-7310
- Reference: (202) 274-6280
Meet Us:
For more information, please visit our Staff Directory.
Mason Law Library Study Aids
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
This guide helps UDC Law students find commercial study aids and topical treatises for specific classes. All listed resources are available on and off campus. Use the tabs on the left-hand side of the page to browse by subject. While not exhaustive, these are the most up-to-date study resources available and are often recommended by faculty.
Below, you’ll find links to our top four study aid databases, along with tips for using them and links to their mobile apps. If you have any questions, experience any issues, or require any library assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to a Mason Law Library staff member using the contact information on the left-hand side of the page.
Aspen Learning Library offers a robust collection of eBooks, audio files, and videos to support your law school studies, including popular series like Glannon Guides and Casenote Legal Briefs. Many resources include practice questions and quizzes to guide your studies and reinforce your understanding of common legal concepts.
Register Your Aspen Account
Once you are in Aspen Learning Library you will need to register as a user by clicking "Register" on the homepage, in the pop-up box labeled "Login to your personal account". Follow the prompts using your UDC email. After you have created an account and are logged in, you will be able to access the full range of materials offered by UDC.
Download the Aspen App
To read books online or download books to read offline, download the Aspen App to your desktop or mobile device:
|
Apple iTunes App Store |
Google Play App Store |
|---|---|
Navigating Aspen Learning Library
Once logged in, you can search by title using the search bar or use the "Filter By" dropdown menu option to to narrow results by subject area or publication date. Materials are organized into three main categories—eBooks, videos, and audio—and the filters make it easy to find resources relevant to your current courses. For a walkthrough of the platform, be sure to view the tutorial video provided below.
LexisNexis Digital Library is an interactive platform that offers the benefits of a physical book with online functionality for more efficient and deeper research. Through LexisNexis Digital Library, users can access the largest and most flexible legal eBook library from any location while utilizing customizable tools that enhance their research experience.
Accessing the LexisNexis Digital Library
Students are automatically provided access to LexisNexis Digital Library upon enrollment. Sign in to LexisNexis Digital using your UDC Law ID and password.
The LexisNexis Digital Library App
Click here for instructions on how to download the LexisNexis Digital Library Mobile App for more convenient and offline reading.
Navigating the LexisNexis Digital Library
On the homepage of the LexisNexis Digital Library, you will see a search bar at the top of the page where you can search by title, author, or keyword to find e-books and audio books relevant to your studies.
If you wish to browse the full collection of resources available through the LexisNexis Digital Library, select the "Browse Library" tab on the lefthand side of the screen to access all materials the Mason Law Library subscribes.
Visit the LexisNexis Digital Library Support & Training webpage for a collection of quick (approx. 5 min.) training videos on the LexisNexis Digital Library platform. A brief tutorial is provided below for your convenience.
West Academic Study Aid is an online database full of books, podcasts, lectures, and practice questions to help 1L-3L students succeed in classes at UDC Law. If you are having trouble accessing the site check out this helpful guide.
Accessing West Academic
Some of the resources on West Academic will only be available to you once you have created an account and signed into the platform. You can do this by clicking "Create an Account" on the homepage. Please be sure to use your UDC Law email to register your account.
VitalSource - West Academic Apps:
The VitalSource Bookshelf app allows you to read your books offline and sync notes and highlights to help you study. Download the VitalSource Bookshelf app available on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.
For audio resources, download the West Academic Audio app to listen to audio titles offline. The West Academic Audio app is available on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and provides offline access to audio content and audio lectures.
Navigating West Academic
On the homepage of West Academic, you will see a search bar where you can enter the title of the book, podcast, lecture, etc. that you wish to find. If you're unsure of the title or simply browsing, the subject-specific menu tabs beneath the search bar are helpful tools. These tabs are organized by class year, with 1L subjects like Torts, Contracts, and Civil Procedure, and 2L/3L subjects such as Evidence, Criminal Procedure, and Tax. There's also a Bar Exam Prep tab that overlaps with the Academic/Career Success section, which includes resources for academic support, bar prep, and career guidance.
Additional tabs allow you to browse by content type—like Hornbooks or treatises—or by series, such as Short & Happy Guides. You can also create an account to save resources under “My Favorites.” Once you begin searching, filters on the left-hand side help narrow your results by subject or resource type.
For a visual walkthrough of all the features and resources listed, please view the video below.
The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction, CALI, is a non-profit consortium of law schools that conducts research and development in legal instruction. They are best-known for CALI lessons, online interactive tutorials created by legal educators and lawyers. Each of the course pages to the left will provide links to CALI lessons relevant to the topic for students seeking to learn more or test their knowledge.
All UDC Law students can access the full library of CALI lessons, but an authorization code is required to create an account. For access, stop by the Reference Desk in the library or email lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu.