A full list of all CALI lessons covering Torts is available in the Torts Index. Some of the popular topics are linked below. For access to CALI, stop by the Law Library Reference Desk during business hours.
RECOMMENDED BY PROF. PAPPOE
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures.
RECOMMENDED BY PROF. PAPPOE
The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses. Features: Real law school essay exams from top law schools Multiple-choice questions with model answers Professor analysis of multiple-choice questions Student insight into writing essay exams.
The Siegel's Series works through key topics in a Q&A format, providing an additional source for self-quizzing. A proven resource for high performance, each title in this exam-prep series contains multiple-choice questions and answers, As well as essay questions with model answers. Siegel's Features: Multiple choice questions with model answers Essay questions with model answers. Available for all major subjects and electives Great for exam prep.
Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer QandA s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer QandA s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Study anytime, anywhere! Emanuel Law in a Flash comprehensive flash cards are ideal for reviewing legal topics point by point. Each card has a concise question on one side and an accurate answer on the reverse side. These cards are the only product of their kind. Emanuel Law in a Flash Card Features: Only product of its kind Test your knowledge of black letter law Apply the law to hypothetical examples Use individually or in group sessions Use them anywhere, anytime Great for exam prep This title is also available as a mobile app for the iPhone and iPod Touch. See details at www.AspenLaw.com/mobile.
This marvelously intelligent study aid preserves the direct prose, understandable analysis, and colorful examples of the previous two editions. The third edition provides new material on the purposes of tort law, battery, sexual harassment, terminology and policies of negligence, health care malpractice issues, assumption of risk, strict liability, proof and causation, duty and proximate cause, duty to act, media torts and damages. Coverage also includes case summaries of "newsworthy issues" of headline interest throughout the text. A new chapter on fraud and heartbalm torts has been added as well. This text includes a substantial section of End Notes, useful for both professors and inquisitive students, packed with references to scholarly books and articles as well as case law.
When you want to recommend a current and accessible introductory text to use alongside your torts casebook, you now have a new alternative. Richard Epstein, a recognized expert in the field, presents Introduction to Torts to provide an intelligent overview for the first-year law student. His balanced presentation of essential topics makes the book as approachable as it is up-to-date. No other ancillary book provides such a thorough and timely treatment. When you examine this powerful introductory tool, be sure to notice its: Comprehensive coverage - Epstein addresses all the topics of the typical first-year Torts course, along with thought-provoking discussions of the underlying theory. Clear, concise writing - Open your examination copy to any page, read a sample passage, and you'll see Introduction to Torts is distinctly readable. Quality of analysis - Epstein deals with controversial questions in a balanced and understandable style. Introduction to Torts fits with a wide variety of materials and will give students extra help, expecially in the most difficult aspects of the course. If you want your students to gain a solid command of the fundamental principles of modern Tort Law, recommend the most intellectually rich book with the most complete coverage - Richard Epstein's Introduction to Torts.