Foreign and International Law Guide

This section contains links on  important sources for researching international law. Following those links, there is a section on international courts and tribunals, as well as general sources in our collection, and online.

African Union

• Introduction to the Norms and Institutions of the African Union. Girmachew Alemu Aneme (Globalex)

American Society of International Law (ASIL)

• General Information (with links to resources)
• Primary Documents (Charters and Conventions, as well as other sources)

Constitute

• Constitute provides links to the world's constitutions. It is updated regularly.

European Union

• European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User's Guide. Duncan E. Alford (Globalex)
• European Union: A Guide to Tracing Working Documents. Patrck Overy (Globalex)

Find Law

• Find Law International Law Sources Covers mainly international law articles on various area of law

JuriGlobe

• JuriGlobe was created by the University of Ottawa, and geographically breaks down Civil, Common, Muslim, Customary and Mixed legal systems.

Globalex

• In addition to its excellent resources on Foreign and Comparative Law, Globalex has a wealth of resources on researching International law (some of which are cited here). A project of New York University, the guides are comprehensive and are regularly updated.

Human Rights

• United Nations Human Rights This is a link to publications from the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.
• Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online (International Resources)

United Nations System

• Dag Hammarskjold Library. The United Nations library
• Researching the United Nations: Finding the Organization's Internal Resource Trails. Linda Tashbook (Globalex)
• United Nations From the United Nations website, there are links to the various UN agencies and their publicatons. The UN Documentation Research Guide provides an overview on searching for UN documents.
• United Nations Treaty Collection Useful for finding titles of treaties, status, and the League of Nations Treaty Series.

WorldLii Coverage includes the following materials in over 1800 databases from 123 jurisdictions:

• International Law
• International Decisions
• Treaties
• Law Journals

Below are the main regional and international courts and tribunals. From each website, there are generally links to cases, publications and information on the institution.

• Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) The IAHCR is an independent arm of the Organization of American States (OAS). Its mission is to promote and protect human rights in the Americas. From its website, there is access to hearings, cases in the courts, decisions, and reports, among other documents.
• International Court of Justice (ICJ). Established in 1945, the ICJ is headquartered in The Hague and can be considered the judicial arm of the United Nations.
• International Criminal Court (ICT) The ICT was established by The Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court. The ICT investigates and tries individuals who are charged with war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity. It is headquartered in The Hague. ICT cases can be found here.
• International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). The ICTR was established by the U.N. Security Council to prosecute individuals responsible for the Rwandan Genocide. The headquarters is in Arusha, Tanzania, and has offices in Kigali, Rwanda. The Appeal Chamber is located in The Hague. Cases from the ICTR can be found here.

• Georgetown Law Library Foreign and International Law Research Guides
• Indigenous Peoples in International Law. S. James Anaya. 2004.  K3242.A96 2004
• International Law: Cases and Materials. Lori Fisler Damrosch, et al. 2014. KZ1242.5.I578 2014 
• International Law: Examples and Explanations. 2011. Valerie Epps and Lorie Graham. KZ1242.E675 2015
• International Law of Human Rights. Edited by Michael K. Addo. 2006 K3236.5.I57 2006
• Textbook on International Human Rights. Rhona K.M. Smith. 2010. K3240.S55 2010
• The Twilight of Human Rights Law. Eric A. Posner. 2014. K3240.P69 2014