UDC Law Library Blog

Welcome 1Ls and Returning Students!

Warm welcome from the library team! Outlined below are useful details and links to facilitate your studies for the 2021-22 academic year.

Library Resources

All students have access to numerous databases through the UDC Law Library and UDC Main Library. To access these databases off-campus, you should start on the Law Library's A to Z Database List. This will allow you to access many subscription databases through the University's network by just entering your UDC network ID and password.

Westlaw and Lexis

The two primary legal research vendors have portal pages specifically for law students:

• LexisNexis for Law Schools
• Westlaw Law School Portal

You can use these pages to find contact information for our dedicated vendor representatives, as well as customer and technical service information. A registration code for Westlaw was sent to your UDC email. If you did not receive it, you should contact lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu. Registration problems should be directed to Westlaw Technical Support at 1-800-WESTLAW. Lexis registration information is posted in the Blackboard Orientation Organization in the Law Library & IT folder.

CALI

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) is a non-profit consortium of law schools, law libraries, and related organizations that publishes hundreds of interactive legal tutorials and reference materials designed to supplement legal classroom materials. You should register for an account using the specific UDC Law code located in the Blackboard Orientation Organization in the Law Library & IT folder.

Online Study Aids

The law library subscribes to two of the largest and most comprehensive collections of online study aids available - Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids and West Academic Study Aids. Many of the study aids recommended by your professors and keyed to your textbooks will be available on one of these platforms. Make sure to access them through the Database List to be logged in automatically through the Law School's subscription. Once you are logged in, you can create an individual user account to save specific titles.

Need Further Help?

If you need further assistance, you can email the library team  (lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu) with questions about locating materials, accessing databases or doing legal research, and expect a quick reply when it is received during the hours posted on our website. 

Our Law IT Team can help with a wide range of technical issues, from hardware to software. They are available via email (lawhelp@udc.edu) during regular business hours, Monday - Friday. Law IT can also answer questions about accessing UDC systems, like Blackboard and UDC email. However, they do not have any information about external products like Westlaw, Lexis, or CALI - those questions should go to the reference team.

The Technology Manual for Law Students also provides instructions, links, and contact information for widely used technology resources at UDC.