Skip to Main Content



Library Services

Students

Reference Services

Librarians are available to assist with legal research questions during library’s Reference hours. You are welcome to visit or call the Reference desk during posted hours or schedule an appointment with a librarian for assistance.

Meet with a Librarian Form    |   Reference Question Form

Clinic Resources in the Library

Law Library Databases

  • How to access Law Library databases on campus – Click the link here to access the A-Z Database list. From there, you can search for a database, or access an alphabetical list of databases.
  • How to access LRD databases off campus – Due to strict licensing agreements, most of the library's electronic databases and journals are available off-campus only to current UDC Law students, faculty, and staff. When you go through the law library website to access an online resource from off-campus, you will be asked to authenticate in using your last name (username) and University (N) number (password).  If you have difficulty authenticating, please email lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu.

UDC Learning Resource Division’s (LRD) Databases

  • How to access LRD databases on campus – Go to the Learning Resource Division’s website. From there you can search for a database, or access an alphabetical or a subject list of databases.
  • How to access LRD databases off-campus – Due to strict licensing agreements, most of the library's electronic databases and journals are available off-campus only to current UDC students, faculty, and staff. When you go through the library website to access an online resource from off-campus, you will be asked to identify yourself as a UDC student, faculty or staff member by logging in to the UDC authentication system (same as accessing your MyUDC account). If library patrons have difficulty logging in through the UDC authentication system to access library resources, they will need to contact the UDC Office of Information Systems and Management. The library is unable to address issues with the UDC authentication system.

Faculty

Instructional Support

  • Research lectures & tutorials
  • Request articles, books, cases
  • Exam distribution
  • Course management training
  • Plagiarism check tools
  • Course reserves

Research Services

  • Request articles, books, cases
  • Training for research assistants
  • Alert services

  • SSRN, eXpresso, and Scholastica access

Policies and Guidelines

Training & Lectures

  • Submit requests to lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu
  • Conditional on librarian availability
  • Scheduled minimum of 2 weeks in advance
  • Must provide course materials relevant to the lecture topic

Research/Material Requests/Alert Assistance

  • Submit to lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu
  • Provide clear and complete request, preferred contact method for any follow-up questions
  • If requested materials are readily available on Westlaw or Lexis, hyperlinks will be provided
  • Librarians do not provide cite checking or proofreading services
  • Due to copyright restrictions, library staff will not scan large portions of print material
  • Allow 24 hours for a response if submitted during the work week, requests on weekends and holidays will take longer to fulfill

Exam Distribution

  • Send an email to lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu to coordinate drop-off
  • Exams will only be distributed, not collected – instructors should keep a copy of originals if needed
  • Packets must be complete and in order by exam number – librarians do not collate or compile answer keys with exams
  • Instructors should notify students exams are available AFTER the library has received the exams

Course Management Support

  • Submit requests for assistance with technical issues/training to lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu
  • Library provides training and informational resources to help instructors:
    • Create new course sites
    • Reuse old course sites
    • Enroll/unenroll students
    • Contact students through course site via email/announcements
    • Manage course site content
    • Link to lecture videos
  • Due to copyright restrictions, library staff will not scan materials for inclusion on course sites 

Plagiarism Check Tools

  • Contact lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu for available options and requirements
  • Allow 24 hours for a response if submitted during the work week, inquiries on weekends and holidays may take longer

Course Reserves

  • Request via lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu in advance of the first day of classes
  • Conditional on item availability
  • If the item is a personal copy, copyright restrictions should be noted in writing and attached to the item when placed on reserve

SSRN/Scholastica/eXpresso (publication repositories/submission tools)

  • Submit requests for access and instructions on submitting articles, creating/updating profiles, etc. to lawlibraryhelp@udc.edu