District of Columbia Research Guide

Print Sources:

District of Columbia Statutes at Large: KFD 1225.A23  (1975-1986)

• Issued annually, the D.C. Statutes are located in our Archive collection

DC Official Code: KFD 1230 2001.A22 (2001 ed.)

DC Code Annotated: KFD 1230 1981.A22 Lexis (1981 ed.)

Online Sources:

• District of Columbia Statutes and Court Rules (Westlaw)
• District of Columbia Statutes and Legislation (Lexis)

• Public version available online.

• HeinOnline also has a historical archive of state statutes.

Daily Washington Law Reporter (DWLR) KFD 1247.W37. (Coverage from 1880 to the present). Online access is also available through HeinOnline, with coverage from 1874-1963.

District of Columbia Local and Federal Cases (Westlaw)

District of Columbia State and Federal Dockets (Westlaw)

Lexis

HeinOnline  - D.C. Historical Reports

Code of the District of Columbia. 1929 ed. KFD30 1929 D47. Contains a historical section of pre-1929 laws.

District of Columbia Statutes-at-Large. KFD1225.A23  Includes D.C. Council Resolutions and Mayor's Orders. Coverage is from 1975-1986.

D.C. Official Code. KFD1230 2001.A22  Kept up to date by pocket parts, replacement volumes and advance legislative service.

D.C. Register. Electronic access available here 

D.C. Council's Legislative Information Management System (LIMS). The LIMS system provides the public with a free source to search the status of legislation. There are basic and advanced search options and among the items avalable are bills, resolutions and reports.

HeinOnline

Lexis

Westlaw