Skip to Main Content

Maryland Research Guide


This research guide was created to facilitate your research of the laws of Maryland. The law making process, sources of statutory law, rules and regulations are outlined. Links are also provided to resources for finding case law, court opinions, and secondary sources.

Sources cited are the print and electronic resources available in the Mason Law Library. It is useful to begin your search in the library's catalog, the gateway to our collections, as well as those of the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC). Call number links have been included to titles to facilitate your access.

If you have further questions, please email, and our team of helpful librarians will be happy to assist you.

Maryland Basic Facts

Maryland is one of the original thirteen colonies. It officially became a state on April 28, 1788. The capital is located in Annapolis, and the current governor is Larry Hogan. There are twenty-four counties in Maryland. Below are useful links for researching the executive, legislative and judicial branches. 

Executive: Provides links to the Governor's Executive Council (Cabinet), Sub-Cabinets and Cabinet Councils, and the Governor's Coordinating Offices. There are also resources for researching Maryland agencies and departments, counties, and municipalities.

Legislative: This link provides information on agencies, bills, budge, committees, hearing schedule, sessions, and the legislative process.

Judicial: Useful for accessing the Court of Special Appeals, Circuit Courts and District Court of Maryland.