Mason Law Library Study Aids
Need Library Assistance?
Law Librarians are here to help!
Email Us:
Call Us:
- Circulation: (202) 274-7310
- Reference: (202) 274-6280
Meet Us:
For more information, please visit our Staff Directory.
Criminal Law Study Aids
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
This page lists curated study aids to support students studying criminal law. Students may click the '
' information icon located at the end of an item's title for a more detailed description of the item's contents.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Law by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543822427Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.This Outline covers the basic components of all crimes, as well as defenses to crimes. The offenses of criminal homicide, sexual assault, and the theft crimes are covered in detail. The Outline covers common law doctrine, modern statutory trends, and the Model Penal Code.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887863597Publication Date: 2023-06-28
Criminal Law Cold Call Companion by
The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared?
BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are:
Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life;
A written case brief;
Advice for prepping for class discussion;
Contextual materials to offer additional color and background;
Test Yourself questions; and
Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.
Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 2024
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Law, Keyed to Dressler and Garvey by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9798886143546Publication Date: 2022-11-30
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Law (Keyed to Dressler and Garvey, 9th) by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler and Garvey's casebook on Criminal Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685614782Publication Date: 2022
Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Law Keyed to Kadish and Schulhofer by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543841251Publication Date: 2022-08-16
Kennedy's a Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law, 3d by
This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Too many criminal law guides bury the novice in detailed rules when nine times out of ten mastery of the fundamental concepts is the key to success on the exam or in practice. Remembering these concepts is made easier by a "forest before the trees" organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader's memory. Outlines of key doctrinal points for each chapter are included. You'll laugh and learn. Bonus chapters offer valuable tips for students on how to succeed in the study of the law. This third edition includes updates to the doctrines of felony murder, rape, and diminished capacity and a short section on abolitionism.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887865836Publication Date: 2024-03-01
Criminal Law in a Nutshell by
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685610654Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Quick Review of Criminal Law by
Sum and Substance Quick Review is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a student needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781634594431Publication Date: 2018-07-09
Examples & Explanations for Criminal Law, Ninth Edition by
Employing the unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy, Examples & Explanations: Criminal Law combines textual material with well-written and comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students’ comprehension of the materials and to provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. The questions, which often raise a variety of issues in one fact situation, are similar to those on a law school or bar examination.
New to the Ninth Edition:
Discussion of self-defense and police use of force issues
Discussion of changes in model penal code rape law
Interesting hypothetical situations based on real cases in recent years
Professors and students will benefit from:
Updated materials—utilizes well-known cases that have not made the appellate courts or even gone to litigation to make the material current and easily applicable
Explanations include analysis of both prosecution and defense—this pedagogical approach provides valuable exam-writing skills for students
Readable and accessible—often incorporates popular culture and humor to spark interest in students
Highly recommended as the most popular preparation resource for Criminal Law— including by Atticus Falcon, author of Planet Law School, an orientation guide for students about to begin law school
Straightforward presentation—clear, introductory text enables students to understand and apply principles
Visual aids—tables and charts demonstrate legal standards and concepts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9798889068082Publication Date: 2024-07-19
Principles of Criminal Law by
Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781683285359Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Burkoff's Acing Criminal Law, a Checklist Approach to Criminal Law, 5th by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887862828Publication Date: 2023-09-20
The Glannon Guide to Criminal Law: Learning Criminal Law Through Multiple Choice Questions and Analysis by
In the Seventh Edition of The Glannon Guide to Criminal Law, Laurie L. Levenson presents a comprehensive, thoughtful review of course content that demonstrates how to effectively analyze and answer exam questions, honing students' understanding of concepts and their ability to apply the rules.
Glannon Guides can help students better understand classroom lectures with straightforward explanations of tough concepts interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application.
New to the Seventh Edition:
Recent case law on required mental states, inchoate offenses, "true threats" and the First Amendment defense, self-defense, and insanity
New multiple-choice questions comparing common law and Model Penal Code standards, as well as cases involving police misconduct
Recent case law on felony murder reform
Professors and students will benefit from:
A user-friendly and interactive approach, including text introducing the key cases and concepts that enable a full understanding of subsequent questions and mastery of the material they test
Multiple-choice questions, pitched at a level similar to that of many law school exams, that are integral to a thorough review of Criminal Law topics
Clear analysis of both correct and incorrect answers, which clarifies nuances in the law
Excellent preparation for the Bar exam by one of the nation's leading Bar-exam lecturers in criminal law and procedure
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9798889068792Publication Date: 2023-12-01
Emanuel CrunchTime for Criminal Law by
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543822410Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Step-by-Step Guide to Criminal Law by
The Step-by-Step Guide to Criminal Law is an interactive workbook designed to effectively prepare students to pass exams. The most heavily tested legal rules are presented in a format that mirrors the way they arise as issues in typical testing fact patterns. Rule statements are set out in easy-to-memorize statements, with a breakdown of the element components and logical steps to take to apply new facts to each legal element.
Fluency with the legal terminology is also essential to exam success, so this Step-by-Step Guide includes fill-in-the-blank spaces to help you learn and memorize definitions of key terms as they are introduced, and a glossary of selected terms at the end for further reference.
In addition to learning the law and memorizing key rules and terms, success in law school also requires the hard work of deep learning, engaging with problems to test your own knowledge, and working toward gaining a strong command of all testable topics. To that end, this Guide contains short-answer Test Yourself questions. Working through these questions and then reading the answers and explanations to determine where your understanding is clear and where you must do additional work will help you master the skill of applying the relevant rules to new and different fact patterns. In addition to the short-answer questions, this Guide also includes numerous full-length essay questions with sample answers —providing further practice to test your knowledge and deepen your learning.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781647088026Publication Date: 2022
Exam Pro Essay on Criminal Law by
This study aid contains more than 100 essay questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which examine a number of interwoven topics. Together, these questions survey all of the material covered in a typical criminal law course. Each question is accompanied by a comprehensive model answer that can be used to foster a deeper understanding of criminal law and to show students exactly how to apply the rules they learned in class on an actual exam.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9780314232953Publication Date: 2010-02-03
Aspen Aloud: Criminal Law by
Aspen Aloud is a series of narrated audio summaries for legal studies in 1L or 2L subject areas: Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Corporations and Other Business Entities, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts. Consisting of easy-to-follow, non-casebook-specific chapters broken up into audio files of approximately 10 to 30 minutes each, Aspen Aloud covers the main topics of a subject area to help students understand the concepts they learn in class throughout the semester and to study for exams on the go.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9798889067511
Office Hours on Criminal Law by
Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Law by
This audio lecture overviews the sources and nature of criminal law. Examines the theories of punishment, actus reus, mens rea, mistake of fact, and actual and proximate causation. Also addresses all of the major defenses and the concepts of inchoate and accessory liability. The Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The audio lecture provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These audio lectures are time saving, convenient and effective.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: 2024- High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Law (Keyed to Dressler and Garvey, 9th) (Audio) by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dressler and Garvey's casebook on Criminal Law. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685614782Publication Date: 2022
Criminal Law: In Other Words Audio Series by
The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Criminal Law lectures, Kelly Strader gives an Introduction to Criminal Law and covers Murder, Conspiracy, Manslaughter, and Murder and Malice. Kent Kasper covers Accomplice Liability, Defenses, Mens Rea Requirements, and Judge vs. Jury. Ray Chao explains Elements of Rape, Strict Liability Crimes, Attempt - Mens Rea, and Elements of a Crime.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543823806Publication Date: 2/6/2020
A full list of all CALI lessons covering Criminal Law is available in the Criminal Law Index. Some of the popular topics are linked below. For access to CALI, stop by the Law Library Reference Desk during business hours.