Mason Law Library Study Aids
Need Library Assistance?
Law Librarians are here to help!
Email Us:
Call Us:
- Circulation: (202) 274-7310
- Reference: (202) 274-6280
Meet Us:
For more information, please visit our Staff Directory.
Property Law Study Aids
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
This page lists curated study aids to support students studying property. Students may click the '
' information icon located at the end of an item's title for a more detailed description of the item's contents.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Property by
Emanuel® Law Outlines for Property, Tenth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today's Property courses and includes an abundance of short-answer and multiple-choice questions and answers as well exam tips. New to the Tenth Edition: Greatly expanded discussion of the "fair use" defense in copyright law New and detailed coverage of the prohibition on unreasonable restraints on alienation when land is conveyed Treatment of "heirs property" and the enactment of the Uniform Partition of Heirs Property Act to redress the unfair impact of judicially supervised partition sales of heirs property (especially rural agricultural land fragmented into small tenancies-in-common as the result of multiple generations of intestate succession) Expanded coverage of the Fair Housing Act, including (a) the Act's application to housing discrimination based on the sexual orientation of tenants and (b) the Act's use in cases involving landlord liability for failing to combat tenant-on-tenant harassment against protected categories of tenants Coverage of recent Supreme Court cases on the Taking Clause of the Fifth Amendment, including a case on temporary physical occupation and a case on how the "denial of all economically viable use" doctrine is to be applied to scenarios involving multiple adjacent lots Students will benefit from: The detailed course Outlinewith black letter principles that supplements student's casebook reading throughout the semester and gives structure to their own outlines The Capsule Summary that provides a quick reference summary of the key concepts covered in the full outline and will prove invaluable at exam time The Quiz Yourself feature that includes a series of short-answer questions and sample answers to help students test their knowledge of the chapter's content Multiple-Choice Questions in the style of questions on the Multistate Bar Exam (with detailed answers) that will help build students' exam taking skills and confidence Checklists that help students review key issues The Casebook Correlation Chart that correlates each section in the Outline with the pages covering that topic in major casebooks
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543807547Publication Date: 2023-12-01
Gilbert Law Summary on Property by
The subjects discussed in this outline are possession (including wild animals, bailments, and adverse possession), gifts and sales of personal property, freehold possessory estates, and future interests (including reversion, possibility of reverter, right of entry, executory interests, and rule against perpetuities). Also included are tenancy in common, joint tenancy, and tenancy by the entirety, condominiums, cooperatives, marital property, landlord and tenant, and easements and covenants. This outline also covers nuisance, rights in airspace and water, right to support, zoning, eminent domain, sale of land (including mortgage, deed, and warranties of title), and methods of title assurance.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781685611620Publication Date: 2025-03-03
Black Letter Outline on Property by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9780314275509Publication Date: 2012-06-13
Property Cold Call Companion by
The day has arrived and your name rings out in class. This is it. The cold call. What might your professor ask? Did you understand the case? Did you miss anything important? Are you prepared?
BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are:
Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life;
A written case brief;
Advice for prepping for class discussion;
Contextual materials to offer additional color and background;
Test Yourself questions; and
Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts.
Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: August 5th, 2024
High Court Case Summaries on Property (Keyed to Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander, Schill, and Strahilevitz, 10th) by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander, Schill, and Strahilevitz's casebook on Property. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887862682Publication Date: July 6th, 2023
Casenote Legal Briefs for Property Keyed to Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander, Schill, Strahilevitz by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543841435Publication Date: 2022-05-10
High Court Case Summaries on Property: A Contemporary Approach (Keyed to Sprankling, Coletta, and Salcido, 6th) by
This title contains briefs for each major case in Sprankling, Coletta, and Salcido’s casebook on Property. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9798887868363Publication Date: July 31st, 2024
Casenotes Legal Briefs for Property Keyed to Singer, Berger, Davidson, and Penalver by
After your casebook, a Casenote Legal Brief is your most important reference source for the entire semester. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Here is why you need Casenote Legal Briefs to help you understand cases in your most difficult courses: Each Casenote includes expert case summaries, which include the black letter law, facts, majority opinion, concurrences, and dissents, as well as analysis of the case. There is a Casenote for you! With dozens of Casenote Legal Briefs, you can find the Casenote to work with your assigned casebook and give you the extra understanding of all cases Casenotes in 1L subjects include a Quick Course Outline to help you understand the relationships between course topics.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543807417Publication Date: 2022-04-15
A Short and Happy Guide to Property, 3D by
This book takes difficult subject matter and makes it accessible and easy to remember. Professor Paula Franzese, a nationally renowned teacher and scholar, sets forth understandable techniques for mastering estates in land and future interests (including the dreaded rule against perpetuities), concurrent estates, landlord-tenant law, servitudes, land transactions, the recording system, zoning, and eminent domain and includes, in this expanded Third Edition, added treatment of adverse possession, homeowners' associations, common interest communities, future interests, the rule of capture, and the law of finders. Learn from this ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year Award and become a property connoisseur!
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781636592879Publication Date: 2022-03-11
Real Property in a Nutshell by
This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781634599207Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Principles of Property Law by
Cases and statutory law are updated and the material reorganized; conforms with modern law school courses in real property. Chapters open with brief outlines of the law encompassed within, providing an overview of rules in that area. This is followed by a series of factually-based problems designed to generate thoughts about how these rules could be applied in real life situations. Chapters then discuss statements of applicable law and analysis of legal issues raised, plus likely outcomes and current citations of the various laws.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781634607018Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Mastering Property Law by
Mastering Property Law is a precise, practical guide to the fundamental rules of law underlying the basic property law course. Useful with any casebook, the text focuses on the common law developments of property from the beginning of the English system through our modern times. This concise introduction to the subject matter includes chapters on gifts; possessory estates and future interests; zoning and more. The book provides readers with clear rule statements, examples, diagrams, and other learning devices to assure that they are equipped with a strong foundation that will ensure success in their coursework, in preparing for the bar, and ultimately as practicing attorneys.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781611635652Publication Date: 2013-10-01
The Law of Property by
The Law of Property provides an incisive and clear summary of the doctrine and theory animating the law of private property. The book is organized around three main themes: acquiring property, dividing property, and limiting rights in property. Specific topics include, the law of capture, creation, adverse possession, estates and future interests, concurrent ownership, marital property, leaseholds, land transfers, recordation, easements, covenants, land use controls, and the Takings Clause, among others. The book synthesizes these diverse topics by highlighting the overarching themes that join them together. It is essential reading for any property student, and can be used in conjunction with any leading property casebook.The Second Edition features new cutting-edge property topics including a recent Supreme Court case interpreting the Takings Clause, and disputes around hydrofracking and short-term rentals (like Airbnb). It has been edited to account for changes to marital property following new constitutional law on same-sex marriage. It now includes references to the Sprankling & Coletta casebook, as well as updated citations to the most recent editions of the leading casebooks.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781634592994Publication Date: 2016-03-22
A Student's Guide to Estates in Land and Future Interests by
This unique self-teaching guide facilitates the understanding of complex materials from property courses. Chronologically organized material familiarizes students with basic concepts and necessary technical vocabulary. The author graphically explains complex concepts, and provides extensive problem and answer sets. Topics include basic possessory estates, remainders and executory interests in response to the statute of uses, modifications of the common law scheme, and interesting complexities and modern changes.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781531018825Publication Date: 2020-07-01
A Student's Guide to Easements, Real Covenants and Equitable Servitudes by
This comprehensive Guide treats some of the more difficult areas of the first-year Property course. Lucid essays explain all major concepts and doctrines of the law of servitudes, including significant reforms recently adopted by the Restatement (Third) of Property, integrating them with their historical development and contemporary policy bases. The distinctions among and consequences of related property interests of easements, real covenants and equitable servitudes are discussed. The author intersperses throughout the text over one hundred questions and problems, all with analytic answers, illustrating the concepts and doctrines in contemporary, realistic settings. This clear and comprehensive treatment of the complexities of easements, real covenants, and equitable servitudes will enrich classroom learning and self-study.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781579114299Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Examples and Explanations for Property by
This book is for a Property student's use both before and after class, and it also summarizes the fundamentals of property law in preparation for a final examination, including the Bar Exam. Its text is based on the casebooks on Property in widespread use in this country, with its subjects arranged in the order in which they are typically presented. New to the 7th Edition: Many more in-text Examples in Part IV, Transfers of Land, Chapters 21-25 New text on new forms of real estate brokerage, Chapter 21 Many more in-text Examples in Part VI, Chapters 31-32 An updated text on the United States Supreme Court's takings cases, Chapter 34 Professors and students will benefit from: A focus on examination questions after each Chapter In-text Examples to investigate features of each Chapter's text as each Chapter presents them A presentation of areas of the law only referenced in class Better preparation for class
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543857610Publication Date: 2023-05-17
The Law of Property by
Trustworthy and modern source on property laws surveys estates in land--present, future, and concurrent, comparable interests in personalty, landlord and tenant law, and rights against neighbors and other third persons. Also examines easements and profits, running covenants, governmental controls on land use, land contracts, conveyances, titles, and recording systems. Contains footnote citations to leading court decisions for easy location of primary authority.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781640202375Publication Date: 2019-01-22
Emanuel CrunchTime for Property by
CrunchTime® Your Exam Study Partner, Sixth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today's Property courses and includes an abundance of short-answer questions and answers as well as exam tips. This edition has been updated to reflect changes in the law, in casebooks, and topics tested on exams. Students will benefit from: A Capsule Summary that explains the major topics and issues in Property Flow Charts and Checklists that illustrate principles and concepts Multiple-choice Questions with answers that build exam-taking skills and confidence Practice Questions and answers feature includes a series of short-answer questions and sample answers to help you test your knowledge of Property Exam Tips alert you to issues and commonly used fact patterns found on exams
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543807493Publication Date: 2024-07-11
The Glannon Guide to Property by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library OnlineISBN: 9781543839319Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Questions and Answers: Property by
There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.
Call Number: LexisNexis Digital Library OnlineISBN: 9781531021047Publication Date: 2022-09-30
Acing Property by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses outline-like checklists that are designed to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter begins with a review and explanation of the important rules, concepts and principles that govern a particular area of property law. The review material is then synthesized into a checklist. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze property issues when writing their exams. Although other study aids may offer summaries of the law and practice questions, none offer the systematic analytical approach represented by the checklists in this book. In addition, the fourth edition includes:Two full-length, four-hour practice essay exams (with model answers)A new Master Checklist for issue-spotting essay questionsUpdated discussion and Chapter Checklists for new developments in the lawNew exam tips for regulatory takings and real covenants questionsAdditional discussion of bailments, co-ownership, servitudes, and real estate transactionsUpdated cross-references to additional supplemental sources for further reading
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9781683284499Publication Date: 2022-03-11
Sum and Substance Quick Review on Property by
Comprehensive analysis of property law, convenient for class or exam preparation. Provides clear and concise explanations of legal concepts and terms, along with exam hints, strategies, mnemonics, charts, tables, and study tips. Includes self-testing and diagnostic review questions, and Case Squibs, which are capsule summaries of significant cases identifying important facts, primary issues and relevant law. Provides a Casebook Table, which keys to relevant pages of leading texts, and numerous essay and multiple choice questions with model answers and detailed expalnations. The 10-5-2 Hour Study Guide offers study suggestions in the critical hours before an exam.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9780314180957Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Exam Pro Objective Questions on Property by
This study aid presents eight examinations pertaining to property rules and their application. The book contains 200 objective questions; all are actual final exam questions being released for the first time. Each exam consists of 25 objective problems and includes tear-out answer sheets to simulate exam conditions. The accompanying answers and detailed analysis foster a better understanding of each rule and how to apply it.
Call Number: West Academic OnlineISBN: 9780314180704Publication Date: 2007-10-05
Sum and Substance Audio on Property by
Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio lectures on Real Property, 3rd presents the essentials of real property law in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. It includes exam tips to maximize performance. Among other topics, sections discuss: study techniques, ownership, tenure, seisin, estates in land, future interests, reversion, remainders, title, powers of appointment, tenancy, marital property estates, landlord and tenant, assignment and subletting, easements, profits, licenses, land sales contracts, financing, deeds, covenants of title, estoppel by deed, recording acts, lateral and subjacent support, and public land use control.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: December 19th, 2013
Office Hours on Property by
Gain the advantages of office hours with professors on your own schedule! The West Academic Office Hours series is a collection of short audio and video tracks that tackle some of the thorniest questions plaguing law students. The professors answer students’ most frequently asked office hour questions. With clear and easy-to-understand explanations, these professors will help you reach that “lightbulb” moment of comprehension, just as they have with their own students in their own offices. You now have virtual faculty explanations available at the click of a button! The Office Hours series features a variety of notable law faculty explaining these tough topics in new and thoughtful ways.
Call Number: West Academic OnlinePublication Date: February 13th, 2023
A full list of all CALI lessons covering Property is available in the Property Law Index. The Property Law Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons. Some of the popular topics are linked below. For access to CALI, stop by the Law Library Reference Desk during business hours.
- Distinction Between Real Property and Personal Property
- Bailments
- Gifts I: Inter Vivos Gifts
- Gifts II: Testamentary Gifts, Causa Mortis Gifts and Gifts of Future Interests
- Finders of Personal Property
- Adverse Possession: An Introductory Lesson
- Easements Defined
- Termination of Easements
- Real Covenants and Servitudes of Land (Podcast)
- The Estate System: A Review
- Interpreting the Language of Conveyances
- Future Interest Rules
- Landlord and Tenant: An Introductory Lesson