Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technology Manual for Law Faculty and Staff

Assignments Tool

Creating and Grading Assignments:

To create assignments, please view the instructions provided by the Center for Academic Learning (CAL) here.

To view, annotate, and grade assignments using the grading sidebar, please view the Blackboard Inline Grading for Assignments video below.

Plagiarism Checking with SafeAssign

SafeAssign compares submitted assignments against a collection of academic papers to identify areas of overlap between the submitted assignment and existing works. SafeAssign is integrated into regular Blackboard Learn assignments and can be selected on the settings page.

Use SafeAssign to review assignment submissions for plagiarism potential and create opportunities to help students identify how to properly attribute sources rather than paraphrase. SafeAssign is effective as both a deterrent and an educational tool.

SafeAssign is based on a unique text matching algorithm capable of detecting exact and inexact matching between a paper and source material. Submissions are compared against several databases:

  • Internet: Comprehensive index of documents available for public access on the internet.
  • ProQuest ABI/Inform database: More than 1,100 publication titles and about 2.6 million articles from 1990 to present time, updated weekly (exclusive access).
  • Institutional document archives: Contains all papers submitted to SafeAssign by users in their respective institutions.
  • Global Reference Database: Contains papers that were volunteered by students from Blackboard client institutions to help prevent cross-institution plagiarism.

Select SafeAssign plagiarism checking for any of your assignments in Blackboard.

  1. Access a content area, click on the Assessments button and select Assignment
  2. On the Create Assignment page, expand Submission Details. [View screenshot]
  3. Select Check submissions for plagiarism using SafeAssign. [View screenshot]
  4. Optionally, select one or both options:
    1. Allow students to view the SafeAssign originality reports on their submissions.
    2. Exclude all student submissions for this assignment from the institutional or global reference databases. This is only applicable if students will submit multiple drafts of one paper and you wish to exclude the earlier draft(s).
  5. Complete the Create Assignment page.
  6. Click Submit.

Create Video Quizzes

 VERY IMPORTANT: After creating a video quiz, the quiz must be placed in the Blackboard Course Content for the grades to be automatically added to the gradebook.

To start creating a media quiz, the media must first be uploaded to Kaltura’s My Media.

Launching the Quiz Editor:

1. Log in to Blackboard and click the My Media tab at the top of the page.

2. Click Add New, then select Video Quiz.

3. Next to the media you wish to use for quizzing, click Select. This will launch the Quiz Editor.

Kaltura My Media Select

4. Find a place where you want to add a question, and click the Pause button.

Select the desired question type by clicking on its icon.

Kaltura Quiz-Multiple Choice Icon

Multiple Choice

Kaltura Quiz-True False Icon

True / False

Kaltura Quiz- Open Answer Icon

Open Answer

Kaltura Quiz- Reflection Point Icon

Reflection Point

5. Add question text, and, if applicable, answer choices. (The example shown is for multiple choice.)Kaltura Quiz Editor-multiple choice menuSide Note: Multiple choice questions start with two answer options. Two more options can be added by clicking the plus (+) button. By default, the first option is the correct answer, and you can scramble the answer list after inputting answers by clicking the randomize button. Randomize Icon

6. When finished, click Save. Repeat these steps until all questions have been added.Click Save

7. When complete, click Done.Click Done

You are finished creating a video quiz. It will be saved with the original title appended by “- Quiz”. Continue below to see how to place a Kaltura Interactive Video Quiz in your Blackboard course.

Add Video Quiz to Course

Adding a Kaltura Video Quiz to Course Content

1. Go to the page in your Blackboard course you want to place the Kaltura Video Quiz.

2. Click Assessments, select Kaltura Video Quiz.Click assessment then Kaltura Video Quiz

3. Click Select next to your quiz. Remember your quiz will be the original video title appended with “- Quiz”.Click select next to the quiz

4. Title your quiz, and change any settings. Click Submit, and you are done. If you upload the quiz this way a grade center column will automatically be created in the Grade Center and a grade will automatically be entered when the student takes the quiz.Complete create quiz item information and click submit.

Test Tools

Create a Test:

To create a test, add questions to a test, and make your test available to students, please view the How to Create a Test in Blackboard Learn video below.

 

To add new questions or reorder questions in an existing test, please view Blackboard help page.

To set up and change test settings that has been deployed in a content area, please view Blackboard help page.